About thinkjet

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far thinkjet has created 22 blog entries.

Mo’olelo o ke Koa Featured on Hawaii News Now!


On January 2, three performers in Chamber Music Hawaii’s Mo’olelo o ke Koa (The Soldier’s Tale) appeared on Hawaii News Now’s Sunrise show. The actors and musician performed excerpts from Stravinsky’s work, showcasing the original Hawaiian translation created specifically for this production. The interview portion with Howard Dicus featured Todd Farley, Director of Mo’olelo o ke Koa, and James F. Moffitt, clarinetist and CMH Board President.

More about Mo’olelo o ke Koa
Purchase Single Tickets

Mo’olelo o ke Koa Featured on Hawaii News Now!2019-01-07T09:59:16+00:00

Coming up next…

L’Histoire du Soldat

(Mo‘olelo o ke Koa)

Tresemble + University of Hawai‘i

MON JAN 14 7:30pm Doris Duke Theatre

FRI JAN 18 7:30pm Paliku Theatre

“There is a special theatrical delight and wonder that takes place when the worlds of music, word, and movement meet,” says Todd Farley.“Similar to when world cultures share story together, the result is a spectacular evening sure to enthrall young and old alike.”

L’Histoire du Soldat tells the story of a soldier who—while on his way home from the war—encounters the devil and is presented with an appealing deal: to exchange his fiddle for a magic book that will grant him everything he ever wanted. The original French text is by Swiss writer C.F. Ramuz and based on the folk tale, The Runaway Soldier and the Devil. Igor Stravinsky, a 20th-century Russian composer, scored the piece for a septet of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet/trumpet, trombone, and percussion. The work also calls for three main actors (soldier, devil, narrator), a dancer (princess), and additional ensemble dancers.

This co-production between CMH and UH represents the first Hawaiian translation of L’Histoire du Soldat. While it closely follows Ramuz’s libretto, the new version is set in the Big Island and the soldier, Koa, is Hawaiian. The plot revolves around Koa’s struggle with the lure of colonialism and the seduction of materialism that came with it. Farley explains, “Mo’olelo o ke Koa tells a story as old as time itself, true to the first fallen paradise, to post-war Europe and post-colonial Hawaii—we had peace, then enters the Devil. It is fitting that the story of human struggle is shared in a collaborative work between art forms and cultures—between mimes, actors, composers, and musicians; between Hawaiians, Asians, and Europeans.”

Coming up next…2018-12-31T08:08:50+00:00

HBQ Annual Holiday Concert on December 10th

Season’s Greetings from the Honolulu Brass Quintet! Don’t miss their next Holiday Concert at Paliku Theatre on December 10.


Dec 10 – Honolulu Brass Quintet
HBQ Annual Holiday Concert on December 10th2018-12-18T15:02:57+00:00

HBQ Annual Holiday Concerts

Season’s Greetings from the Honolulu Brass Quintet! Don’t miss their upcoming Holiday Concerts at the Central Union Church on December 3 and at Paliku Theatre on December 10.


Dec 3 – Honolulu Brass Choir
Dec 10 – Honolulu Brass Quintet
HBQ Annual Holiday Concerts2018-12-05T05:13:18+00:00

War & Peace

Meet Marsha of the Spring Wind Quintet and come out to enjoy War & Peace.


War & Peace2018-11-30T10:58:06+00:00

Exclusive Dinner Concert

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Celebrate our new season with us at a dinner concert featuring the Spring Wind Quintet in an exclusive historic residence. Enjoy fine wines and a delicious gourmet dinner by MW Restaurant. Location will be sent with confirmation of purchase. Free valet parking. Reservations are limited and must be received by October 15th. A portion of your cost may be tax deductible. Please consult your tax advisor.

For more information, please contact (808)722-0172 or (808)489-5038 or email

Exclusive Dinner Concert2018-10-25T21:52:52+00:00

The Fabulous French

Meet Helen Liu of the Galliard String Quartet and come out to enjoy The Fabulous French.


The Fabulous French2018-10-25T21:52:43+00:00

Season Opening: Nine, Nine…Ten!

The gorgeous sounds of the string and wind ensembles come together to highlight a splendid selection of French and German compositions.


Season Opening: Nine, Nine…Ten!2018-10-01T20:46:53+00:00

Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress. This is your first post. Edit or delete it, then start writing!

Hello world!2018-08-05T01:19:59+00:00

The Glorious Appalachian Spring

SUN May 27 4:00pm Paliku Theatre

* PREMIUM Reserved Section available

Tresemble + Onium Ballet Project

Some of the finest ballet dancers in Hawaii come together with the Tresemble to delight music and dance lovers. Copland’s beloved work is set with WWII-era costumes, and the Martinu ballet, in contrast, features kid-friendly dancing utensils in costume.

Bohuslav Martinu – “Kitchen Revue”
Aaron Copland – “Appalachian Spring”

Memorial Day weekend is a fitting time for our Sunday music + dance matinee for all ages. The stunning music and choreography of “Appalachian Spring” are complemented by costumes of the WWII-era, while the costumes for “Kitchen Revue” are whimsical dancing utensils.

The Onium Ballet Project has regularly collaborated with Chamber Music Hawaii, creating new original ballets to many works, including Bohuslav Martinu’s La Revue de Cuisine and Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring. The group is led by Artistic Director Minou Lallemand, who was born in Colombia and grew up in New York City. She trained at the Neubert Ballet Institute and graduated from the New York High School of the Performing Arts while on scholarship at the Joffrey Ballet School, and enjoyed an international performing career. She now lives in Honolulu and focuses on teaching and choreography.

Single Tickets

Paliku Theatre
The Glorious Appalachian Spring2018-07-06T03:12:32+00:00