Project Description

From left to right: Jonathan Parrish, J. Scott Janusch, Marsha Schweitzer, James Moffitt and Susan McGinn

Hawaii’s own SPRING WIND QUINTET, founded in 1974, has been at work for almost a half-century bringing chamber music to concert halls, schools, libraries, parks, and to the airwaves via radio and television throughout Hawaii.

The Spring Wind Quintet started small, performing only a handful of concerts per year, but in the late 1970s the Quintet’s activities increased dramatically, thanks to a grant award from Chamber Music America to establish an ongoing chamber music residency program in Hawaii. These activities, along with the creation of a resident string quartet and brass quintet, led to the birth in 1982 of a new organization, Chamber Music Hawaii, which is now the leading presenter of chamber music in Hawaii.

In addition to its resident colleagues, the Galliard String Quartet and the Honolulu Brass, the Spring Wind Quintet has collaborated with the Kronos String Quartet, the Sierra String Quartet, the Annapolis Brass, and the Bergen Wind Quintet, as well as distinguished solo artists such as pianists Jon Nakamatsu, Joyce Yang, and Jon Kimura Parker.

The Spring Wind Quintet has an extensive and varied repertoire, ranging from the standard classics to contemporary, pops, and Hawaiian music. Many new works have been composed or arranged especially for the Spring Wind Quintet. The group has performed concerts throughout Hawaii, in New York, Norway, and Micronesia, and also offers educational programs for all ages, including youth concerts, band clinics, and workshops.

In recognition of its contributions to the quality and quantity of chamber music in Hawaii, the Spring Wind Quintet has been the recipient of grants from many private, corporate, and governmental foundations, including the Hawaii State Foundation on Culture and the Arts, the Honolulu Mayor’s Office for Culture and the Arts, the McInerny Foundation, Cooke Foundation, and Atherton Family Foundation, and also several national foundations, including the National Endowment for the Arts, the Atlantic Richfield Foundation, and the C. Michael Paul Foundation.

Susan McGinn, Flute

Susan, Principal Flutist of the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra (HSO) since 1990, is a native of Detroit, where she received her Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Michigan, her Masters from the University of Illinois, and did post-graduate work at Indiana University. Her principal teachers were James Pellerite, Richard Graef, and Peter Lloyd. Sue has participated in many festivals around the world including the Britt Festival, Maui Festival, Schleswig-Holstein, Los Angeles Philharmonic Institute, and Sarasota Music Festival and has performed with the National Repertory Orchestra.

J. Scott Janusch, Oboe

Scott is Principal Oboe of the HSO and was a scholarship student at the Manhattan School of Music and the Cleveland Institute of Music. His teachers include John Mack, Elaine Douvas, Henry Schuman and Marc Lifschey. Scott has also held Principal Oboe positions with the San Antonio Symphony, San Diego Symphony, and the Kansas City Symphony. Oboist in the Spring Wind Quintet since 1996, Scott also serves as the Education Outreach Coordinator for Chamber Music Hawaii’s in-school and community concerts and workshops.

Jim Moffitt, Clarinet

Jim is the Associate Principal and Bass Clarinetist with the HSO, having served many seasons as Acting Principal Clarinetist with Chamber Music Hawaii’s Spring Wind Quintet since 1986, he served two seasons as Acting Assistant Principal and E-Flat Clarinet with the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra. He has performed, toured and recorded with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chicago Symphony Winds. A former member of the Alabama Symphony, he performed with the Santa Fe Opera Orchestra for 10 seasons and has also performed with the Colorado Symphony, Aspen Music Festival, Britt Festival, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and La Jolla Summerfest. Jim also serves as Board President for Chamber Music Hawaii.

Marsha Schweitzer, Bassoon

Marsha is the former associate principal bassoonist of the HSO, and she also served as principal bassoonist of the Hawaii Chamber Orchestra, Maui Symphony, and the Honolulu City Ballet Orchestra. Marsha graduated from Oberlin College and studied bassoon with Leonard Sharrow, Kenneth Moore, Artemus Edwards, Steven Maxym, and chamber music with Marcel Moyse. Marsha is a music publisher and a prolific arranger, having expanded the SWQ’s repertoire through her many arrangements and transcriptions for woodwinds, many of which are published and recorded. Marsha co-founded and served as the initial executive director of Chamber Music Hawaii.

Jonathan Parrish, Horn

When the HSO launched in March 2012, Jonathan played the first note of the first concert. He was named the orchestra’s first Executive Director in 2013. He was formerly the General Manager of Chamber Music Hawai’i. Jonathan moved to Hawai‘i in 1998 to be Assistant Principal/Utility Horn with the Honolulu Symphony. He was previously Assistant Principal Horn for four seasons at the Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, DC and was Principal Horn in the Harrisburg Symphony and National Chamber Orchestra for five years. He is a graduate of the Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University and James Madison University and has performed with the Baltimore, National, New Haven, Roanoke, Fairfax, and Richmond symphonies, as well as the Orquesta Filarmonica de la UNAM in Mexico City.